Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kaesgarden

Eucalyptus Corymbia ficifolia seeds - germination?

kaesgarden
9 years ago

Hi there,

I'm new to this forum and new to gardening. If there is anyone out there that has some experience with this tree i would welcome all advise given. This year was the first year i planted anything outside and I've never had an indoor house plant. So i'm really getting into growing and i've purchased some seeds from a seller online of Eucalyptus Corymbia ficifolia seeds but i've had little success on finding out the proper way of germinating this particular species of Eucalyptus and at the moment i have one seed being surface sowed outside in a pot with a cover.

Any advise is greatly welcomed. :) How do i germinate this beauty?
Thank you to all that can help me! I'm so lost. Sorry if this is in the wrong category, i'm still learning to navigate my way around.

Comments (5)

• ampa62
    9 years ago

I believe you have seeds like these in the photo, correct?

I found these acorn yesterday under a magnificent tree.

Some weeks ago I bought 12 different kind of trees seeds. Most are in the frozen (Abies, betula, ...) others are already growing (laburnum, quercus, jacarandá). From where I bought them I received instructions about how to take care of them.

About this Eucalytpus I have no idea, but I am going to find out.

We will keep in touch in order to find the best solution.

• kaesgarden
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Thanks for responding ampa62,

These are what my seeds look like, i'm hoping what could possibly be inside those pods? I ordered these online, nevertheless i've had no luck germinating them. I've tried just surface sowing on a sandy medium which i then put cling film over and placed outside under diffused lighting.

Then i after two weeks in the fridge ... nothing. I think the seeds actually crumbled apart when i picked it up. So that was a big fail.