Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
love2garden_nc

fungus gnats on vegetable seedlings

love2garden-nc
11 years ago

looking for suggestions on getting rid of these pests. I just saw 3 or 4 of them tonight for the first time flying around my flats with fall veggie seedlings. I have read about mixing soap with water and spraying plants and soil. anyone know if this works and recommended amounts of soap to water? Also read about mixing mosquito dunks in water used to water seedlings-is this ok to use on veggies? any other suggestions? i appreciate any ideas-this is my first attempt at starting my own seedlings. btw seedlings range from 2-4 weeks old.

Comments (7)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    11 years ago

The BT ingredient in mosquito dunks works on the larvae in the soil which is what does the plant damage. It will not harm the plants at all. Al

• Tiffany, purpleinopp Z8b Opp, AL
    11 years ago

In the future, don't use peat. Fungus gnats are a sign of too-wet conditions. Never seen any unless there was peat involved.

• love2garden-nc
    Original Author
    11 years ago

thanks for the info. i made a note in my notebook that its ok to use the dunks with veggies plants-the old memory just isnt what it use to be. on the peat- i used miracle gro seed starter mix. i looked at the ingredients and it does include peat. the top layer of soil seems to get crusty-is that normal? what is your favorite starter soil to use? thanks again for all the info-i am really enjoying the fall seedlings.

• crazyaboutplants
    11 years ago

I have found a good way to control and prevent fungal gnats. Even when growing indoors in low ventilation, with a little TLC and control measures you will be fungal gnat free!

I mix spray bottles of water and Murphy's Oil Soap (About 2-3 tbsp per spray bottle) Spray the leaves and soil once daily for about 7 days. ensure that you check the undersides of the leaves as well.

Make sure you liberally apply, as the gnats should be soaked in it.