Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
protea_king

My latest seed sowing escapades

protea_king
13 years ago

I have always had varying success with seed germination. About an hour ago I went crazy sowing some seeds of indigenous plants, but I did something I've never done before. I added a pinch of worm castings beneath each seed. I can't wait to see if I notice any obvious effect on their germination. I sowed some 'Olea europaea subsp. africana' and 'Strelitzia nicolai' both of which have very hard seed coats. I didn't get round to nicking them or soaking them in hot water for 24 hours. I think it will be really interesting to see whether the friendly microbes and plant hormones provided by the worm castings can entice the seeds to germinate. The only thing I'm worried about is the cold weather. I'm wondering whether to cover the seed trays with the lid of my propagator to give them the extra protection and humidity. Also they are sitting on a fairly icy concrete base, would it be a good idea to lay a piece of wood underneath them on which they could sit buffered from the cold?

Thanks for any help.

PK

ps. I posted this in the wrong section at first. My bad!

Comments (3)

• yiorges-z5il
    13 years ago

1) worm castings will not speed up germination but will help after seed germinates
    2) soil temp should be 75-80F for germination
    3) its not to late to remove seed & soak as suggested
    4) covering seed to retain humidity will promote damping off

• oilpainter
    13 years ago

Confused??? Are you actually having cold weather in zone 10 in August?

Like yioges said worm castings will not help with germination. A seed needs only constant moisture--not wet, moist,and the right temperature to germinate. Which is why I would never try to do them in trays outside. It's too hard to retain the moisture or temperature. In the ground is another matter. The ground helps retain the heat and moisture.