Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
jschristian44

Weeds overtaking my Celery/Carrots in New Garden!

jschristian44
12 years ago

Hi,

I am pretty new to vegetable gardening. I thought it would be a nice relaxing way to enjoy watching vegetables grow and then eat them. I planted some pumpkins for halloween harvest, some Utah Tall Celery and some Baby Carrot variety. I see a few carrot stalks showing through as well as a few celery. I believe I planted them wrong and will learn from that, but the weeds are overtaking them. The pumpkins are amazingly fun to watch grow. They grow like 2-3 leaves a week now and the leaves are getting huge. It's amazing to see the progress how they started as just a little 2 leaf bud. Anyways, my main concern is the grass and weeds that are growing in my garden that are shadowing my celery and carrots. I try to pull them, but I have a fear of pulling my veges with them. I pulled a few veges I know of but I'd like to avoid that. I planted mulch and mushroom soil mulch and I was hoping that would discourage weed growth but it didn't really help. I am going to start over in the springtime, planting cucumbers, tomatoes, etc in teh garden and I want to do it right at that time. I am going to harvest whatever celery and carrots grow by that time and start over. I have red crimson clover growing to act as a border for bunnies and other animals so they can eat that first before coming in my garden and I have hosing that looks like snakes as well. Please help!

Comments (2)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    12 years ago

Both celery and carrots are commercially grown here along the coast as winter harvested crops. Weeds will germinate long before these crops and overwhelm them as yours are doing. The farmer waits for the weeds to germinate and hits them with a herbicide spray before the carrots or celery have broken ground. This is very effective in weed prevention. Al

• soilent_green
    12 years ago