Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
okiedokiemydog

seeds and tubers

okiedokiemydog
10 years ago

I have a general question about seeds and tubers and i did not know which forum to place the question. I hope this forum is okay for this question. When seeds are planted for different plants, will the plant develop tubers as it continues to grow. For plants that can be started from either seeds or tubers.For example, canna lilies are sold as seeds and tubers/bulbs. Will the plants that are started from seeds eventually develop tubers/bulbs over the years as it continues to grow and spread? I know this sounds like a dumb question but i haven't been able to find an answer to this question.
The canna lilies growing in my gardens have tubers, and that's how they propagate. I did not know that I could collect seeds somehow from these plants. I am just getting into gardening these last few years so i am still learning. I hope the question makes sense and is not too confusing. Thanks in advance for an answer. bea

Comments (6)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    10 years ago

It's not a confusing question and Yes, you can start things that grow from tubers and bulbs from seed - lily's, onions, scilla etc, all possible from seed. In the case of canna though, keep in mind that while you'll get a canna plant, it may not be the same color as its parent that you are growing in your garden.

Cannas have very hard seeds and that can make them slow to germinate. Help the germination process by removing some of the seed coat ( called scarification). You can accomplish that with sandpaper, a file, even fingernail clippers, you just want enough of a nick, not too deep, until you see white (the endosperm). Your goal is just enough of a hole in the seed coat so that water can get through.

There is an entire canna forum here on GW, you might want to read through a few of the threads on growing them from seed...

Here is a link that might be useful: Canna Forum - from seed