Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fluffybonbon

Please help!!!Tip how to grow jujube from seed

fluffybonbon
14 years ago

Hi, I have some fresh jujube seeds.

This is my first time trying to grow a fruit tree so I'd like some advice on what to do. Jujube seeds are hard shelled so do I need to nick the seed or soak the seeds in warm/hot water over night to speed up the seed to sprout?

Any help is appreciated.

Comments (7)

• yiorges-z5il
    14 years ago

store seed at 70F for 3 months then at 40f for 3 months THEN lightly cover seed soil temp 65-70F

• urban8_gmail_com
    12 years ago

2 years late to the party on this question, but for the sake of those who find this thread via searching for germination tips on ziziphus jujuba:

Cracking the seed with a small hammer greatly speeds up the process; just don't hit hard enough to damage the endosperm....not difficult, just start tapping lightly and increase force until you hear a crack.

Planted this way, germination in about a month @70F; no pre-chill required, you've overcome the primary germination inhibitors by manually breaking the shell.

• Trishcuit
    12 years ago

this thread makes me want to eat jujubes (the candy). An all time favorite. Yellow ones are good. :)

• nsmith07
    12 years ago

The rest of the seeds, except for one, have sprouted! So I have 80-90% germination over a few tries by cracking the seed and repeatedly soaking in warm-hot water. Initial soakings lasted a few days, and then they went into a paper towel full time, with one more soaking in a two week period before germination. Some I left in the woody husk and it takes a bit longer, but germination still occurred.