Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
boonesapplefarm

All my seeds die after germination?

boonesapplefarm
10 years ago

I'm a beginner gardener and I can't get my seeds to grow more than an inch or two before they die. I germinate them in a bag with moist paper towels then once they start showing some roots i put them into peat pellets or miracle grow organic seed starting soil. I water them once a day with a mister. It's just seeds like cone flowers and such. Is there something I'm missing or am I watering them too much or too little? Also, any advice you have for a beginning gardener I'd love to hear it.

Comments (6)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    10 years ago

Consistently losing seedling at that stage is nearly always caused by 'damping off disease' which is a fungus that attacks the stem at soil level causing the seedling to fall over. This problem is best avoided by not keeping the soil surface wet, and warm. Take the seedlings to a cooler place with better air circulation, and more light. When water is needed water from the bottom of the pots, only enough to reach the roots. Al

• susanzone5 (NY)
    10 years ago

Along with what Al said, start your seeds in soil, not in a paper towel. All the extra handling can add a lot of fungus and bacteria to the stems. Skip the baggie phase and don't spray the plants with water. Also, peat pellets aren't very good. Use potting mix with plastic cups or 6-paks.

• florauk
    10 years ago

And by 'soil' people are referring not to something you dig out of your garden but a proper seed starting mix. Good luck.

• bugbite
    10 years ago

I am in zone 9 as well. I grow seeds in trays and in the ground. Both ways are totally outside. They get the natural exposure to the elements that way. When grown outside in zone 9, I personally, from my own experience, repeat MY experience grow the seeds in the same soil that the plant will grow in..soil that is alive.