Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sueandjan

what to do with seed pods from trumpet vine

sueandjan
14 years ago

i am very new to this. my neighbor just gave me seed pods from her orange trumpet vine. i have no idea what to do with them. it is mid-sept. days in the low 70's and nights in the low to mid 50's. do i leave the seeds in the pods and plant as is, remove them and plant, or remove them and dry to plant in the spring? she also gave me a cutting with a small root attached. do i plant it now directly in the ground? any help would be greatly appreciated.

Comments (14)

• morz8 - Washington Coast
    14 years ago

A cutting with a 'small root' could be planted in the ground, depending on just how small that root is. If it has barely begun to root, someplace more protected than your Z5 garden bed might be a better place for it, i.e. semi protected porch, cold frame etc.

The seeds are removed from the pods. They need a period exposed to cold moist temperatures before they will germinate so you could direct sow now while it's comfortable to be outside, sow in pots in winter and place the pots outdoors for germination in Spring, or sow and use your refrigerator to provide the cold moist period - Campsis radicans: sow 2 months @ 39ºF, move to 70ºF for germination.

If your neighbor is growing the vine you must know in some climates it can get large and have an attitude :)

• chrisnance
    14 years ago

I actually bought some yellow trumpet vine that I will be planting in containers. If you google it, you will find that it is incredibly invasive and hard to get rid of once it has set in.

• geoforce
    14 years ago

In zone 5, I doubt that Campsis will be very invasive. That is about as cold as they will go at all. They are a horrible problem from zone 8 South but not bad at all for me here on the zone 7-6 border.

George

• tomakers
    14 years ago