Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
what do you save seed in?

Posted by tomerrol z7tn (My Page) on
Sun, Oct 2, 11 at 6:44

I was just wondering what type of container do most put their seed in to either save or to use for shipping/swapping ? I am new at harvesting and saving seed. I have started this past month to harvesting seed from my flowers and veggies. Right now I am using regular small size enveloupes that I seal, then I cut in half. then after seed are dried I put them in and fold the cut end over and tape with scotch tape.
I am going to my first plant and swap meet in middle tn this oct 15th at Henry Horton state park and just need advise on how to pack seed, and just how many seed to a pack?
thanks for any advise
Tom

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: what do you save seed in?

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Sun, Oct 2, 11 at 12:03

Your method of packaging sounds fine. Optional/alternative choices are 1x2 or 2x3" ziplocks at Staples, craft stores for minimal expense. There are free seed envelope templates online if you wanted to take the time or be creative, not necessary. Hobby stores would have glassine stamp envelopes that work well.

The loose rule of thumb is at least 25 seeds per packet. With small seed, you may want to include more, larger or seeds more rare or difficult to harvest and fewer than 25 is acceptable.

Enjoy your first plant swap!

o

You can cut square pieces of paper (from your junk mail!) and make little origami envelopes. This pic shows how. For the last step, they show the point being folded flush with the bottom edge but I usually fold it "long" so the point/flap can tuck in under the other folds.