Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
xkittenx

Italian cypress seeds

xkittenx
11 years ago

Hi I'm a newb, and graciously appreciate any advice.

I have Italian cypress seeds. I followed directions by putting them in the fridge on a wet paper towel, in a zippie bag for 60 days. Purchased a seed starter warmer tray, planted them about 3-4 days ago and nothing has sprouted. Have I done something wrong? I started morning glory seeds yesterday and most have sprouted already. How long should I wait & see before calling it quits?

~eve

Comments (7)

• flora_uk
    11 years ago

Morning Glories are herbaceous plants which grow fast but have a limited life span. Italian Cypress is a tree which grows slowly but can live for many decades. Think rabbits versus elephants in terms of gestation and life span. Tree seeds often germinated slowly and I would not be surprised if they take months even. Just be patient and check periodically.

Here is a link that might be useful: Cupressus sempervirens from seed.

• xkittenx
    Original Author
    11 years ago

Thank you for the great info. That was very helpful. I'll keep fingers crossed!

• 210RLozano
    11 years ago

Hi Eve,

I found a cone on an Italian cypress tree that I planted last fall. I think that they are my favorite tree. I have planted countless I.c. over the years, but had never seen a cone. I pulled it off and got the seeds out. I'm about to attempt the germination process. Wondering if your seeds germinated after all. Thank you if you have the timeto get back!

Richard in South Central Texas

• xkittenx
    Original Author
    11 years ago