Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Growing Atropa Belladonna from seed

Posted by daftpunk Michigan (indoor) (My Page) on
Thu, Nov 8, 07 at 11:12

I bought some Atropa Belladonna (deadly nightshade) seeds to try and grow for the beauty of the flowers (and no i don't have any kids or friends that might find curiosity in trying to eat any of it.), anyway, I tried once to grow some seeds and after a few months I pretty much determined failure at that attempt as nothing grew. So I'm doing a second attept with a standard potting soil with some calcisand from my terrarium (my reasoning for this is that I read in England it generally grows in high calcium soils, or limestones, etc.). Does anyone have any tips on growing this or the best way to start from seed? I'm new to propagating from seeds and i'm having a 50% success/failure ratio on them.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Growing Atropa Belladonna from seed

No pretreatment required. Lightly cover the seed soil temp 50F taking 21-30 days to germinate.

o

also should i water it daily or how often?

o

Could I keep it outside during the day and then bring it it at night? Would that be good? Since the ambient temp is between 45 and 55 right now?

o

Keep soil damp not wet & yes bringing it in in the evening is OK

o

Right now I have it by the window and it's cool to the touch. I'll see how this works.

o

My first belladonna plant died from over-fertilising (whoops!!), but the one growing now is doing OK. I wouldn't place any bets, but I think it would help to keep it indoors until it get truely established and then introduce it outside, slowly.

o