Return to the Growing from Seed Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Tangelo question

Posted by new2gardening OK (My Page) on
Tue, Dec 20, 05 at 10:09

Hello everyone. As my name states, I am new to gardening and GardenWeb. I have found some interesting forums on this site, especially this one.

My question: Tangelo. I planted some seeds, just for fun and they came up. However it seems they are very slow growing. I planted them earlier in the spring of this year and they are just over an inch tall. Is this normal? Are they slow growers? If not, what should I be doing? I put them in plain 'ol potting soil and they stayed outside during the summer and now they are in my garage under a grow light.

If I should be blessed enough to get a nice plant out of this, tell me what I should expect, as far as fruit. Is this too much to expect? Not Tangelos, right? I am 50 years old, so can I expect something in this lifetime, (smile)?

Ok, this turned out to be seven questions. I'm sorry. I am "woman" and from NJ (giggle), so if I am accepted on this forum you can expect this in the future. Everyone here in OK keeps asking if all NJ women are so full of questions. But, I smile and say, how else can I learn.

Jill

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Tangelo question

Welcome to a great pastime/ & yes the slow growth may be normal but should speed up... fertilizing & insuring have well drained soil & keep soil damp not wet helps. Most of the seedlings should be 1 foot after 18 months....
Expect the fruit will not be fit for consumpation BUT there always plesant surpises.

o

Not so sure about tangelo, but I'm growing some tangerines from seed (regular store-bought tangerines). Germinated them in a baggie (about 2 days) and planted them about a week ago. Seedlings already one inch tall. I know tangelos are a hybrid, but it doesn't seem that they would take that much longer than a regular tangerine. I would just love to see tangerine blossoms...even with no fruit!
Carol

o