Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
hazegray77

No growth from paper egg cartons

hazegray77
17 years ago

I'm very new to all of this - so be kind! I like to think I'm a creative and resourceful guy, so when I saw the paper egg cartons I thought they would be good for starting seeds. But after 6 different kinds of seeds and about a month, I have yet to see any growth. I'm using miracle grow potting soil mix - I fill up the carton with the soil and planted the seeds (cactus (two kinds), morning glory, poppies, and something else I canÂt remember at the time. I keep them moist and well lit. I'm beginning to think that the egg crates are to well draining and wick away all of the moisture? ANY help or comments on this are much appreciated.

Comments (7)

• calistoga_al ca 15 usda 9
    17 years ago

Thinking the problem is the egg carton container is preventing you from looking elsewhere for the real cause. Plant a seed that you have experience growing and know the conditions required for germination and you will find egg cartons will work as well as any other container. Al

• Crazy_Gardener
    17 years ago

If you're a creative and resourceful kind of guy, wander over to the Winter Sowing forum.

Yeah, don't use egg cartons, they're way too small for good root growth and they dry out way too fast.

It's way to early to sow Poppies and Morning Glories indoors, but do check out the wintersowing forum if you're itching to start something now.

Good luck!

Here is a link that might be useful: Winter Sowing Forum

• mrbrownthumb
    17 years ago

The problem is probably not the egg cartons but probably another factor(s) like humidity, temperature and light.

If you think the egg cartons are wicking up too much water then I would water a little more to compensate. The same way I would when I water plants in the summer that are planted in terracotta pots.

Check out the conditions and rule them out one by one.