Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ind_victor

Direct planting pecan nuts

ind_victor
15 years ago

Has anyone direct seeded pecan nuts to start new pecan trees? I've got an excellant old pecan tree on a property about 150 miles from where I live and want to start some off it for the property where I live. I have placed the nuts in the frig and plan on planting them this March/April. Anything anyone can tell me to help this be more successful, please reply.

Comments (4)

• freemanhouse
    15 years ago

I'm no expert (at all!), but I have successfully propegated pecan trees from nuts. Here's the method I learned from my gardening Grandfather:

1. Gather your pecans, still in their shells. You want heavy, filled nuts. Inspect for worms, cracks or damage. Discard or compost bad nuts. Keep cool (ideally around 40-45 degrees F) until about a week before planting.
    2. Drop pecans in 5 gallon bucket (or any large container) filled with water. Leave for about a week. Viable seed pecans will float; all others will sink.
    3. Plant viable seed pecans on their sides about 3-4 inches deep. Growth is slow; expect a height of 6-12 inches in the first year.

That's what I was taught and it's worked for me with the three pecans I have. Good luck!

• freemanhouse
    15 years ago

Two follow up thoughts:

Are the pecans you want to grow native or paper shell? Native pecans (smaller nuts) are generally used for root stock because they are heartier and easier to start. Then they're usually grafted with paper shells to get larger, meatier nuts.

ALSO: I misspoke earlier when I wrote that viable pecans, when soaked, will float. Sorry! GOOD seed pecans will SINK and bad nuts will float. **Plant only those that sink and stay at the bottom of the bucket.** I'm sorry for stating the other previously!

Again, best of luck! :)

• wally_1936
    15 years ago

From Seed they can take up to 20 years before fruiting.

• knittlin
    15 years ago

Just want to add my agreement to a few points.