Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
bob_nh

Starting Tomatoes

bob_nh
12 years ago

I am participating in a community garden project and have committed to grow 200 to 300 tomatoes and some other plants such as peppers and squash for transplanting. Since this is my first time at this I would like some comments and advice on my plan.

I have lots of fluorescent ballasts so plan to set up as many T8 bulbs as I need to cover a 4' x 8' deck for about 400 plants (3x3 pots). What temp or K value should I use; 3200 or 4100 K?

I am also considering making a big plastic-glazed "cold frame/greenhouse" on the south wall of my house since I don't have to start until about March 20 for mid to late May transplant.

I plan to buy some planting mix for starting the seeds and will set up a watering system. I'm a civil engineer and can build whatever I need in a den that has a large south window. It would be adjacent to where I could build the cold frame (about 8 ft high x 12 ft wide sloped window) against the outside wall where there is a window and door entrance to the den.

1. Should I plant the seeds in small shallow flats and transplant, or sow directly in the final pots?

2. I plan to buy some vermiculite/peat mixture for seeding and for growing. I could buy premixed or mix my own. What potting mix ratios recommended for seeding, and for growing if transplanted?

3. I will put the seeded flats in an 80 degree environment until they sprout.

4. My concept for watering is to set the flats containing pots with bottom holes into a tray of water (?? inches deep)for a few minutes to water them; then drain. I thought about a drip system but comments on this forum suggest bottom watering is better.

5. The water would have dilute fertilizer as required to make them grow.

6. I plan on 7 to 8 weeks from seed to transplanting for tomatoes.

From what I have seen the ideal tomato transplant is short and stocky without blossoms. Is there anything special I should do to get that?