Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
suz9601

Need help,not sure what to plant (pics included)

suz9601
10 years ago

Hi guys. I am about to landscape down the side of my fence and am not sure what I should put there. I am fairly new to gardening (have a couple of years under my belt) but feel overwhelmed at the blank slate I have. I was wondering if you all have any ideas. The area is about 35-40 feet long. The middle part is about 3-4 deep and around the tree and at the other end, maybe 5-6 feet deep from fence. I am looking for shrubs and perennials mainly. Thanks for any ideas. I really appreciate any help. The area gets full sun. I hope you can make out the area I have marked with the extension cord in the pic.

Comments (7)

• suz9601
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Close up of one end of garden area.

• suz9601
    Original Author
    10 years ago

Close up of other end of garden area.

• User
    10 years ago

Suz,
    What are you going to use your back yard for?
    The trees will provide much needed privacy in the spring and summer from your neighbors looking down into your yard.
    Do you have a patio to sit out on?
    Do you have kids or pets? BBQ parties?
    Are you going to have an unbrella out there?
    Do you want to grow veggies?
    Are you thinking about putting in a pond mabey?
    Do you want evergreen trees?
    Flower beds?
    More info needed.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

hey

most shrubs... generically speaking.. will outgrow that space very fast ...

so you will be wanting to look for dwarf versions.. and even those will do the same.. but in many more years ...

shrubs is a rather common ... generic term ... including all sorts of things.. including conifers ...

conifers appropriate to your are would provide some nice back bones to your garden ... and provide year around color, shape and form ... visit the conifer forum and look for KC dave's posts ... as you can probably grow what he grows ....