Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
blburson_gw

Shrub newcomer with lots of questions

blburson
11 years ago

Hello Members,
I'm very new to this forum, in fact, this will be my very first post. I took out the old shrubs in my yard in December, they were thin and not attractive at all. I want to plant new evergreens and am looking for tall (6-10) in some spots and short (3-4) in other. As fast growing and full as possible. I'm even considering replanting some mature ones if I can locate any.

- Any certain types of thick/full evergreen for the Texas weather recommended?
- Low maintenance suggestions?
- Can mature shrubs be transplanted and adapt easily?
- When would the best time to plant/transfer?
- Any suggestions on soil preparations?
- Type of mulch?

I'm sure I can come up with nmore questions but right now, I'm drawing a blank. I'm very new to gardening.

Comments (5)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    11 years ago

I'm very new to gardening.

==>> i can tell.. and welcome to GW ...

i am not even going to try to speak to what grows in houston.. others will chime in there...

but let me tell you what is the easiest way to make a list .. this spring.. simply take the camera/phone .... and as you tool around town.. snap pix.. bring them here.. so we can ID for you ... and start a list of things YOU LIKE.. in your area.. odds are .... they all thrive there ...

next.. check the link.. and memorize it all ... it might take years.. lol .... but do it.. planting and first year aftercare.. are the ONLY important things.. after choosing an appropriate plant ... and we plant in NATIVE SOIL.. we do not amend planting holes ... but we do mulch heavily after planting ... read those parts closely ..

if you succeed.. and they get well ESTABLISHED... most shrubs become entirely are free but for some pruning in the decades to come ... [which is what was NOT done on the old ones ] ....