Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
grailmama_gw

Help! I need ideas please.

grailmama
13 years ago

I am new to gardening and would like to plant a couple of shrubs to mask a 3ft concrete wall. Sounds simple enough, but I am looking for something really specific. I would love to find something that fits the following criteria:

- Evergreen

- NO BEES (I am allergic)

- Hardiness zone 8b (Austin, TX)

- preferably drought resistant

- not poisonous

- Full sun from sunrise until about 1pm

- Height about 3ft

This is an area close to the house and I have 2 small children and 2 dogs so I really don't want anything that attracts bees or wasps, and it can't be poisonous. I see *A LOT* of Boxwood around my area, which is kind of my stand by if I can't find anything more appealing. Any help would be greatly appreciated!!! Thanks! :)

Comments (4)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    13 years ago

Boxwood is highly attractive to bees when in bloom (yes, it blooms -- all non-conifers do). The plant will actually vibrate with bee activity, although it doesn't have a very long bloom period. Dwarf nandina ('Gulf Stream') is a possibility - tends to bloom very infrequently compared to other nandina selections, stays relatively short and compact and tolerates a wide range of sun and soil conditions and is moderately drought tolerant once established. Nandina can be invasive in some areas so check to see how it behaves in your region.

• grailmama
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Thanks so much for the info! I considered the Nandina because I love the way they look, but I read that they are poisonous (hydrocyanic acid) and I am scared to put them in my yard. I have a 2 year old who puts everything in his mouth. I am scared pretty red berries will be just too tempting.

It is disappointing to hear about the bees and boxwood, that was my fail-safe.

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    13 years ago