Return to the Shrubs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Eunonymus Gold Spot - what's eating it?

Posted by wynswrld98 z7 WA (My Page) on
Sat, Mar 8, 14 at 20:35

Some of my Eunonymus Gold Spot are being eaten by something, others not eaten in same general area, I'm not experienced in these shrubs, am curious what may be eating them and how to stop it. I do have deer and rabbits sometimes, not sure if these are prone to being eaten by them.

Thanks!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Eunonymus Gold Spot - what's eating it?

• Posted by morz8 Z8 Wa coast (My Page) on
    Sun, Mar 9, 14 at 12:07

Deer will eat them here, I don't have but an occasional rabbit and rarely damage from one. I have good results with Bobbex deer repellent, but about the same time I decide something is unappealing to deer and don't treat, the deer decide to sample.

The jagged small notches in some of the leaves suggest you have some weevil damage too.

o

Thanks. The rabbits are really destructive to my Rudbeckia and Beautyberry for sure, I catch them eating them to the ground, very frustrating. I'm on an acre and with all of the rain expensive and time consuming to keep applying something to keep them away.

Some of the eaten plants are right at the street and I've never seen a deer there which made me wonder about rabbits. But maybe is a combination of deer and rabbits eating them?

I plan on treating for the weevils but I don't think that's what has stripped most of the leaves where they are completely gone.

o

i cant understand your pic ...

on the one hand.. it looks like a 6 inch.. quart sized plant ... a tiny little thing with one leaf bug bit ...

but your words make me think it used to be 3 foot by 3 foot.. and all that is left is what i think above..

how about a pic of the whole ... with a scale.. so we can understand the problem ...