Return to the Shrubs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Loropetalum lost all its leaves

Posted by sleonard TX (My Page) on
Sun, Mar 28, 10 at 22:38

First of all, I have to say I am a novice to gardening and pretty much don't know anything. I had some loropetalum planted a few years ago in our flower beds and they were fine. But last year I noticed one of them was losing its leaves. I wasn't sure what was wrong but I didn't do anything about it. Anyway, now I can see 3 of the 5 loropetalums are losing their leaves too. Not sure what's wrong. I have some Indian Hawthorne in the same bed and they are all fine. The Indian Hawthorne are in the front row of the bed and the loropetalum are in the back row. Are the loropetalum with no leaves dead?

If anyone has any insight on what could be the problem that would be great. Thanks.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Loropetalum lost all its leaves

• Posted by bboy USDA 8 Sunset 5 WA (My Page) on
    Mon, Mar 29, 10 at 0:18

Timing might point to cold injury. Otherwise, shrubs often defoliate when there is a problem with the roots: too wet, too dry, pathogenic or pest infestation...

As the roots go, so goes the top.

o

Do a scratch test on your loropetalums. Use your fingernail, a knife, or a pair of hand pruners to scratch the outer layer of bark to expose the cambium layer. If the cambium is green and the twig supple, the plant is probably fine and will recover as spring progresses.

o

Lorop. took a hit this winter. I agree with the scratch test. Also they don't like wet feet and this will make them drop leaves and die. Ask me how I know.

o

Mine did the same and its because I was overwatering them since the heat in southeast Georgia is brutal. Its still surviving I have about 10 more purplish leaves then I had last year:-)You may want to buy some root stimulator such as Superthrive, Lilly miller vitamin b1 plant starter or Miracle Gro makes some as well. Good luck as I am having some for mine:-)

o