Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
wynswrld98

Forsythia: green branches with no blooms? or water sprouts?

Wayne Reibold
13 years ago

My Forsythias are just starting to bloom (I'm new to them), the branches that are blooming are old and craggy looking tan but about half of the branches are very green but no blooms on them. Are the green branches going to eventually turn into old craggy looking branches and bloom over time? or are they water sprouts?

Comments (6)

• flora_uk
    13 years ago

Quick answer - 'Yes' to your first question.

Forsythia blooms on old wood i.e. at least one year old. The non-flowering shooots will flower next year. If you cut forsythia back at all, do it directly after blooming or else you will be cutting off next year's flowers. But it actually doesn't need any pruning except to remove dead and damaged wood or to shape it up.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    13 years ago

hard to tell much without a picture..

forsythia needs REJUVENATION PRUNING to bloom properly ... google the term ...

pruning aside .... buds are set in late summer for bloom the next spring... things that impact those buds are:

summer drought ....
    fall drought ...
    hard frost or freeze after it comes out of dormancy in spring ...
    among other things ...

i have 5 acres.. over that space.. i have about 8 feet of elevation ... the plants on the upside.. bloom regularly and perfectly.. year after year ...

i have one plant.. in a dry swale ... where i presume cold air gathers ... that plant tries to bloom 2 weeks later than the rest [because the soil stays colder down there].. and just about every other year.. fails to bloom completely .. if it were not variegated... it would be long gone ... all i can figure is that they get heavy frost or freezes that kill the buds ...

the first thing to learn with forsythia.. is how to prune them properly ... i will link for you ...