Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
towsonite

Small Boxwood Hedge

towsonite
10 years ago

Hello, I want to make a small boxwood hedge in front of Azaleas. I want it to only be about 1 1/2 foot high and deep. Is there a particular variety of boxwood that you would use for something like that? And, what would the proper spacing be.

I was thinking that Korean boxwoods would be what I wanted, but then I see that they can grow 4 to 5 feet wide. I have no experience with boxwoods, but I know they are pretty much made to be managed in size. So, if they can typically be planted much closer (let's say 18 to 24 inches apart) than otherwise specified, then please let me know.

Just an FYI, the house in the attached picture is not mine.

Thanks for your help.

Comments (5)

• Embothrium
    10 years ago

There are many dwarf cultivars on the market, some of them pretty small. Visit your favorite independent garden center to see what they have.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

of course that's not your house ...

otherwise your gardener would know what to plant.. lol ...

do you understand how often these will need to be sheared.. to maintain the perfection ... maybe 3 times per year ... you up for that struggle???? ... call that 3 Saturdays a year .... maybe 4 in your zone ...

i grew up having to maintain mom and dads privets ... i swore.. never again...

just want you to understand what you are signing up for ...

spacing would be to budget.. and necessity of speed in creating the look ... it means addressing your expectations ....

fast means lots of plants close together ... high budget ...

cheaper is spacing them out and letting them fill in .. i usually say.. i have more time than money.. ..

all these considerations need to be decided.. then you worry about the plant itself ... [of course, you may have already done so]

good luck ... and come back if you need planting help ...

ken

ps: privet.. boxwood.. equivalence as to the need to be sheared ...