Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
docmoo

bottomless pot to control Rhus?

docmoo
12 years ago

Please, Just got a Tiger Eyes Sumac and am wondering how deep a barrier do I need to prevent suckering? Thank you !

Comments (10)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    12 years ago

half way to the center of the earth????

ken

12 years ago

yes.. it was a joke..

i have no direct experience..

why dont you ask about your bathtub idea here???

something tells me.. it is not as aggressive as the plain old green one .... but i bet it hasnt been on the market long enough for anyone to give you a long term forecast of such ...

ken

• docmoo
    Original Author
    11 years ago

OK, my concern is the possiblity of rampant spread, because I don't know HOW it suckers? If I were to take a large(bottomless)metal or plastic tub and bury into the ground about a foot, would that be sufficient to control it??? and no Ken, I don't have a bathtub.

• j0nd03
    11 years ago

Will probably contain for a couple seasons, but this thing wants to spread out! As soon as the roots leave the bottom of the pot and begin growing up just outside the pot, it is only a matter of time before you get some identical siblings.

John

• Mike Larkin
    11 years ago

It will spread -- Long runners, but on the top of the soil. I have been able to control mine by using a sharp shovel to cut runners, or just yank out of the ground. It is not much of a problem to do each year. Not like bamboo
    I have had it growing for about 5 years. I also cut it back hard each year

It is a great plant, fantastic color. Mike

Here is a link that might be useful: Garden Design Ideas

• docmoo
    Original Author
    11 years ago

WOW ... OK, so there's a possibility of it suckering from roots BELOW the level of the pot AS WELL AS spreading from roots running along the top of the soil !?!

• j0nd03
    11 years ago