Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
ginny12first

Question only for those with heavy deer infestation

ginny12
14 years ago

Is there any shrub, evergreen or deciduous, that deer will not eat? I have been battling them, and losing, for ten years. They eat everything, including all those things people say they don't eat.

My landscape is virtually destroyed. We created it out of nothing with much hard work over 30 years and the deer have eaten every evergreen we have, needled or broadleaf. The only things they have not touched are pachysandra and Pieris floribunda but it may be just luck with the latter.

Only those with heavy deer infestation will be able to answer this. I need experience with such conditions. The deer have not read the books about what they "don't eat."

Please help.

Comments (34)

• thetman
    14 years ago

sorry to hear that-its frustrating spending all that money every year- I kinda know what you mean. Lost mostly groundcover this year (blue rug junipers). But they didn't touch my blue star junipers or skyrockets. all spruce were safe (3ft to 9ft.) I did use some spray this year on my smaller skyrockets (didn't want to lose them just in case). I had a few boxwoods they didn't touch so I planted some different type this spring to make up for the blue rugs-so far so good. What evergreens did they eat?
    thetman

• ego45
    14 years ago

For evergreen,
    Pieris, pieris and pieris again.
    Not necessary P.floribunda only, but P.japonica as well.
    They wouldn't touch Buxus americana for sure, either.

For deciduous,
    All kind of spireas (though they are succeptible to rabbits), caryopterises, buddleia, paeonia suffruticosa, cornus kousa, lindera benzoin, forsythia and possibly clethra (I have it in a deers exposed location for 3 years only, no damage so far).
    Can't be firm about sambucus and cotinus coggygria, but my neighbor with whom we share deer's 'pathway' grow them successfuly.

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    14 years ago