Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
madakatude_gw

Snowball in 6A

madakatude
10 years ago

Here is a picture of my snowball viburnum. I am very new to gardening and I don't know if it's still to cold to plat this outside. We're still getting below freezing temps during the night. Should I put them outside and bring them in at night until it gets warmer? To what temp? Also I read some old post and I've come to a level of acceptance that I may not get blooms until this these are 6ft. Considering I'm really plan of taking good care of these when will they be 6ft. Next year or the year after? Any soil additive recommendations to promote growth?

Shown are 3 gallon pots

Thanks everyone...

Comments (15)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

can you post a pic in focus...

they dont look like V to me .. on this pic .. they dont look woody????

in the garage.. they are not houseplants .. they should not mind cold ... just not below 34 or so ... and even if it gets near that outdoors.. i wont in the garage ...

plant after ALL CHANCE Of frost/freeze is past.. as they are no longer dormant ...

your expectations are extremely high ... they will not bloom this year.. nor would i expect 6 feet.. if in fact they are V .. [look more like mums to me... ]

i would near bare root.. and plant in native soil ... and i would NEVER fert them... ever ..

see link for planting guide... IF... you water .. PROPERLY.. all this season ... they will be ... what i call.. run them over with the truck plants.. never needing anything else ... but perhaps some lower expectations on your part ...

dont kill them.. with too much love ...

ken

Here is a link that might be useful: link

• madakatude
    Original Author
    10 years ago