Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
thunder_dd87

help with shrub/hedge selection

thunder_dd87
9 years ago

Hi all,

I'm a total newbie, so I apologize in advance! I am in the process of cleaning my flowerbed in the front of my house. I am trying to decide on what shrubs I can plant in this area (picture included) to give a hedge-like appearance, especially because of the stained brick. I did some looking online and was thinking about photinia plants...but I noticed some people absolutely hating those. I was drawn to those shrubs b/c of the color factor.

Also to note, the area in the photo isn't nearly as narrow as it looks. The picture was using the panorama view.

Any other ideas? My house faces SW, gets a good deal of sunlight. Also in zone 7.

Thanks!

Comments (17)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

where are you ...

and how deep is that bed ..

i would favor putting the hedge on the opposite side of the walk .. and planting some perennials in the spot you are thinking about ...

i mean.. look at that juniper.. i bet its dead on the brick side.. and basically half a plant as compared to how it is supposed to be shaped ... and that is probably because its supposed to be a 6 foot wide tree at that height.. and it is planted in a 3 foot wide space ...

plants are planted... to HIDE the foundation .. not on the foundation ... and had the builder understood that.. he would not have given you such a small space between the house and the walk ...

ken

• thunder_dd87
    Original Author
    9 years ago

Hi Ken, thanks for your input. I'm living in central Oklahoma. I'm not quite sure how deep that bed is.

I'm definitely open to planting perennials there instead of hedges as it would also do a good job of covering the stained brick (and be colorful).

This post was edited by thunder_dd87 on Tue, May 20, 14 at 11:00

• floral_uk z.8/9 SW UK
    9 years ago