Return to the Shrubs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Can/Should I Cut Flowers From My Lilac Bush?

Posted by amck NH (My Page) on
Tue, May 12, 09 at 17:07

My lilac bush is near full bloom and I would love to cut some flowers to enjoy the sight & scent inside.

We planted the bush 6 yrs. ago and it is full and healthy. I've never cut the flowers and don't want to damage the bush.

If you think it's okay to do, can you tell me the best way to cut them? Thanks -

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Can/Should I Cut Flowers From My Lilac Bush?

People have been cutting and bringing inside for centuries. This is what the bush is grown for.

Dan

o

So...should I cut clusters from the top? or the outside?

Should I keep to just enough for a vaseful, or can I cut most all the blooming flowers?

Will my cutting result in fewer blooms next year?

Sorry if these questions seem elementary, but I'm a very novice gardener and this is my first lilac bush.

o

measure vase.. cut accordingly ...

buds are set after flowering ...

cutting off all flowers.. avoids seed set.. which is a plus ...

learning how to PROPERLY MAINTAIN YOUR SHRUB.. will help you in the future ... cut flowers.. learn about this next week

ken

o

Cutting your lilac blooms now are fine. The new blooms start coming later, so you will not effect next year's growth. Never trim a lilac early spring, always wait until after it has bloomed. Enjoy your blooms! :)

o

I agree with all of the above - I've been cutting vast bouquets of lilacs from my own shrubs for years. To extend the life of the cut flower stems and so they can draw up sufficient water, smash the woody bases with a hammer or other heavy object. If you don't, they will wilt easily and not last very long as a cut flower. And try to get a few that are not yet fully open - they seem to offer more intense fragrance.

o