Return to the Shrubs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Bug ID on Hydrangea Annabelle? Photos

Posted by prairiemoon2 zone 6a/MA (My Page) on
Sat, May 22, 10 at 17:45

It looks like there is a caterpillar inside the leaves making a mess and maybe laying eggs? Wondering if I can just cut these terminal leaves off but if I do will I lose my flowers for the season? Any other thoughts?

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Image and video hosting by TinyPic

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Bug ID on Hydrangea Annabelle? Photos

Hi Ann...I'm no expert, but if this was my shrub, I'd cut the leaves off. As long as the flower buds remain, it'll flower. Keep an eye on it and pick off caterpillars as soon as you see them. I think this is the year of the caterpillar for everyone.

o

I never saw so many caterpillars, Anita! If it isn't one kind it's another. The birds are having a feast and I've never seen Orioles in my yard so much. Yes, I'm going to have to start visiting my roses a couple of times a day trying to find the culprits on those.

I haven't looked closely at all the leaves that have these rolled up 'suites' in them so I'm not sure if there are flower buds in them or not. I'll have to go over it good tomorrow.

Thanks Anita!

o

• Posted by jean001 z8aPortland, OR (My Page) on
    Sun, May 23, 10 at 13:40

Leafrollers of one kind or another. Why cut off leaves when you can squish the beast in place? Yes, I know; the eeuuw factor!

Having a garden sometimes requires nerves of steel. Well, sort of.

o

i am with jean.. peel them open .... pick up any litle stick .... and get the chucker out of there.. place under shoe .. and walk away ..

ken

o

Ok, I don't have a problem with getting them out of there. I have gloves and that way maybe the leaves will be okay. I'll try it. Thanks :-)

o

Just to clarify, I didn't mean cut "all" the leaves off...just the one or two that have the caterpillars in them. :)

o

we knew that...