Return to the Shrubs Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Cotoneaster dead?

Posted by morris000 5b/6a (My Page) on
Tue, May 6, 14 at 22:07

The plants at the north-east corner of my house took a beating this past winter. We had one of the coldest winters on record and I know it took out a large holly bush planted at this location. I thought the cotoneasters surrounding the holly were OK, but I'm no longer so sure.

It's May 6 here in zone 5b/6a and the cotoneasters have not yet returned. They are the low-growing variety, and are relatively mounded. They are currently about 2' in diameter. Unfortunately only a few stems on each plant actually show leaves at this point.

I'm new to cotoneasters... should I give it more time or can I consider them deceased too?

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Cotoneaster dead?

Check the stems for girdling. A neighbor has lost a fairly extensive planting of cotoneaster because creatures, presumably voles or chipmunks, ate the bark off a remakable number of the stems. This, too, can be attributed to the past winter. Many animals were desperate for food and the low growing cotoneasters provided that plus an area of shelter from deep snow. If a stem is girdled, that portion of the plant will die. If there are enough stems showing green cambium, you can prune out the dead ones and the plants should regrow from the roots fairly quickly.If you see no evidence of girdling the plants probably were killed by the intense cold. They may or may not regrow from the roots if cut back to ground level.

o

were they snow covered???? if so.. how cold is not really an issue.. they were insulated ...

here in adrian MI ... z5 ... i am a week to two weeks late at this point ...

so i would suggest.. you give them more time...

you say you are new.. but dont tell us how long they have been in situ ... though winter was bad.. there could be other issues as to their failure ... such as trasplant last year .... that were complicated by a hard winter ...