Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vinny_75

Is this a bad Choice? Wisteria 'Amethyst Falls'

vinny_75
18 years ago

Folks,

Wife wanted a climber around our 4 ft mail box. We put two of these guys right next to the mailbox post (we have 2 posts, mine and neighbours). Sorrounded the edges with Hosta. Now I started reading about Wisteria and I am starting to get worried about their invasive lack of blooming behavior. Has anyone had luck with these? Greenwood Nursery says one can train these guys to a tree form and keep pruning to control the size. I am new to this and some references with help.

Thanks

V

Comments (37)

• marymd7
    18 years ago

Yikes. You planted 2 of these on a 4 ft mailbox pole?That's a cultivar of chinese wisteria which is a highly problematic exotic invasive plant in many areas. It will become a huge rampant vine growing many feet each year and sending up suckers all over the place. Keeping it in bounds requires constant supervision at a minimum.

My advice is to return them to the nursery or just pull them out and compost them. If you're really wedded to wisteria (and I agree they are beautiful), there is a native wisteria (wisteria fructescens) which is much better behaved, not an environmental problem, and also blooms much earlier and reliably.

• Greenthumb
    18 years ago

You planted wisteria around a 4' (four foot) mailbox? Wisteria can grow four feet in a week. That plant needs an arbor made out of 6" x 6" posts to support the eventual weight of the vines. Wisteria can bring huge trees down due to the weight of the vines.

Wisteria can grow to 100', if it's happy. You need to remove the plants from around the mailbox since they will get way too big for that spot (as well as making it impossible for your mail-person to deliver your mail).

Build a LARGE arbor for the vines or give them to someone who has the room/arbor for them.
    Good luck,
    Mike

• vinny_75
    Original Author
    18 years ago