Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whaas_5a

Best pollinator for Viburnum plicatum var. tomentosum

whaas_5a
12 years ago

I had one at my previous home and I'm not sure if V. prunifolium, V. lantana 'Mohican' or V. carlesii was the cross pollinator.

I'm hoping for something new but I wouldn't mind a V. carlesii or V. prunifolium again as they at least provide fall color.

Comments (8)

• dutchess12545
    12 years ago

Well.....I'm no expert, but I think you need another variety of Viburnum plicatum var. tomentosum or a variety of a closely related species. I don't believe lantana or prunifolium are closely related to plicatum. Certainly, there are many varirties of plicatum var. tomentosum available.
    Some include Shasta, Mariesi,Pink Beauty, Rowallane, Shoshoni, Summer Snowflake, Igloo, Lanarth. If you were getting good fruit set before, perhaps there was a pollinator in the area or perhaps plicatum var. tomentosum will set some fruit without a pollinator. Sorry I can't be more definitive.
    ....................Dutchess12545

• viburnumvalley
    12 years ago

Ditto to what the dutchess said...

Around the Valley, none of the other species mentioned even overlap in bloom time with Doublefile Viburnum, and they are not the species I'd expect to cross-pollinate either.

I'd plant a couple of the clones mentioned above, and then stand back and enjoy the show.

• whaas_5a
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I actually had 'Pink Beauty' and it set fruit...I'm trying to think of the blooming times but I can't be certain what may have overlapped.

I'll try a 'Summer Snowflake' and see what happens. They are pretty easy to get.

• viburnumvalley
    12 years ago

"It set fruit."

Viburnums can do that when planted alone. That you are seeking a pollinator tells me (somewhat surreptitiously) that you expect more from the plant.