Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
idabean2

trimming back cotinus now

Marie Tulin
10 years ago

Please advise me on heading back ....top pruning, shaping....a continus that put on about 2 feet of lush growth after a vigorous pruning in early spring.
I've been working on the framework for a few years now. They were up to seven feet tall, and recently I haven't the nerve to cut them back to, say, a few feet. Last time I did that it took two years for them to recover.
But this spring I did prune them very carefully back to five feet, trying to avoid creating "buggy whips"
They look great, if I wanted a 8 or 9 foot shrub. It's time for a haircut. But at this point in the season, how will the shrub react? I don't want to create a mess of twiggy growth on top
Thanks for your advice.
Marie/idabean

Comments (8)

• Sara Malone Zone 9b
    10 years ago

Which cultivar? Is it C. Coggygria such as 'Royal Purple' oris it 'Grace' which is a cross?

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

when my purple smoke bush got two feet over the gutters...

and after i had spent 3 years trying to build a framework .. lol .. been there done that ...

i simply went in there.. and cut it all to the ground.. but for a couple small branches... and then i ran it over with the truck a couple times... lol

and by next fall.. it was back to most of the way to the gutter ..

i eventually solved the problem.. by moving ... and leaving it there .. and never planting another.. within 450 feet of the house ..

so the moral of the story ... get aggressive with it .... you cant kill it if you want.. and if it simply wont cooperate in its given spot.. move.. or get rid of it .... and i know you wont move from that 200 year old house.. and glorious garden ...

ken

• Sara Malone Zone 9b
    10 years ago