Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stephanie38

How do I prune?

stephanie38
16 years ago

I am a novice gardener in Massachusetts; in fact I'm just starting. I'm learning a lot from the Internet, particularly gardening forums like this one. Please forgive this rudimentary question, but I can't find any detailed instructions on how to prune. So far this summer I've planted a lilac tree, hydrangeas, carpet roses, Summer Wine Ninebark, Black Lace Elderberry, Purple Leaf Sand Cherry, Golden Vicary Privet, Green Luster Holly, Purple Bell Heather, and Calluna SP. Rubrum. All of the instructions for the care and maintenance of these shrubs and flowers talk about pruning - when to prune, etc., but don't explain what pruning really is. I guess I need Gardening for Dummies. By "pruning", am I supposed to cut off flowers or buds after they've bloomed? When I read "prune back", how far "back" should I go? Some of the reading mentions "pinching" instead of "pruning". Am I supposed to literally pinch the buds? Can anybody recommend a good gardening book that explains all of this? Thanks.

Comments (10)

• conifers
    16 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

No but a library card can go a long ways.

I can help you.

In general with very few exceptions (I can only think of Spirea and Crepe Myrtle and some trees) - cutting back more than 1/3 of "woody plants" is going too far. 1/3 however is fine.

Pruning "times" will vary. Those garden plants that put on a one-time only spring show, these need pruning shortly after they have flowered. A time window of 3 weeks and really no longer is when you should cut these back and/or "deadhead the flowers and seed capsules". Reading about Rhododendron Pruning will clarify this for you a bit better.

Privets are not known for their flowering displays. You can hack away anytime. Ideally, pruning for any of these would be from Fall to Early Spring.