Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
diggerdee

size of salix integra Flamingo

Hello,

This is my first time posting on the Shrubs forum. I am helping a friend with a bed, and we were considering a salix Flamingo. I have a Hakuro Nishiki which I like, but this is supposed to be an improved variety.

My problem is I can't seem to find a consensus of it's potential size. Monrovia's site says fast-growing, 15 to 20 feet high, while Park's says 24 by 24 inches!! And I've found just about every size in between too! Anyone have any experience with this who could tell me what I can expect size-wise?

And while I'm at it, is this a shrub that would be suitable for about half sun/half shade, in a consistently wet (not soggy, but wet) area by a stream?

Thanks!

Dee

Comments (9)

• gardengal48 (PNW Z8/9)
    16 years ago

I'd be more inclined to believe the Monrovia information. First, they are a much more reputable grower than Park Seeds (24"x24" - what a joke!!) and there is nothing in the information currently available about this very new introduction that would indicate it is a significantly smaller plant. Salix integra in the species form has the potential to grow into quite a massive shrub, as does the cultivar 'Hakuro Nishiki'. I just recently viewed one that was easily 8' tall by close to 10' wide and it had been consistently pruned to maintain that size. Unless 'Flamingo' is grafted onto some sort of dwarfing root stock, there is nothing that would suggest its growth habit would be significantly different.

And your siting sounds very good for this shrub.

• diggerdee zone 6 CT
    Original Author
    16 years ago

Hi gardengal. Yes, I also would believe Monrovia more than Parks - I did think 2x2 feet was pretty unbelievable - but it was just that I am finding sizes for this all over the charts - 2x2, 6x6, 8x10, 20 feet high! It's hard to make a judgement on purchase and placement with such conflicting information.