Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
mdnightsky

What to do with my juniper

mdnightsky
9 years ago

Hi!
We bought our house a year ago and with it came a bunch of lovely but over grown shrubs.
I am still learning so pardon if any info on here is wrong.

We have (what I think is...) a juniper bush in our front bed by the front door. I am not a fan but my husband likes it and wants to keep it. It has grown a bit unruly and I would like to trim it down to keep it healthy, looking nice and not blocking the pathway to our front door. Should I prune it? If so, when and how much should I take off?

thanks!

Comments (8)

• kitasei
    9 years ago

yes it is a juniper and you can prune it by selecting individual branches and cutting them back near the main trunk. that will keep it looking natural. What you don't want to do is shear the ends into a formal shape.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

or your husband can go buy a 10$ replacement at bigboxstore.. and plant it in a proper place...

this is a conifer ... there is such a forum.. if you are interested .. though no need to duplicate this post there ....

if you look at the new growth.. note the trunk is blue.. where it changes to brown.. that is last years growth...

it looks like this one is growing about 8 to 12 inches per year... in theory.. in ten years.. it could be.. 10 feet large ... and that isnt good ... and frankly.. i dont prune my conifers a foot per year ....

since you didnt put it there.. let me be brutally honest.... the nimrod who planted that cute little bush there.. had no clue that as the tree it is.. it will grow up to be a monster ...

so my best advice.. is to move it.. good experiment for hubby.. and fall is when to do it... do a post in the conifer forum if he wants know how ...