Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
fponzani

Spacing Viburnum 'Wentworth' for hedge

fponzani
14 years ago

My local Home Depot was clearing out their $20, 2 gallon Wentworth's for $2.00 each. So I bought all they had - eight or ten I think. I have no experience with viburnums, but I want to make a hedgerow with these. However, I'm not sure of the spacing. The info I've found indicates they'll get 10-12' tall and 8-10' wide. That's quite a bit wider than most shrubs I've planted.

Should I put them eight feet apart? Six? Ten? I'd like to get a pretty solid screen.

BTW, if I can't get these in this fall, I was going to bury the pots in wood chips for the winter. Does that sound ok?

Comments (8)

• laceyvail 6A, WV
    14 years ago

I'd plant them on 8 ft centers and do it anytime before the ground freezes. BTW, without as appropriate pollinator, you won't get much in berries.

• fponzani
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Hey, thanks.

Regarding pollination, I was just reading the "Viburnums pollination, propagation, provenance: Oh my!" thread. Yikes! Why can't this be easy?

• viburnumvalley
    14 years ago

Hey! I resemble that remark...

It is, in fact, EASY. You wouldn't expect to make a baby alone, would you? Viburnum fruiting isn't a lot different - pick an appropriate suitor, and plant within proximate pollination distance. In fact, most gardeners probably put more thought into this kind of permanent process than personal procreation.

Off the soapbox...

At least Viburnum trilobum and its clones are among the most widely available plants (next to arrowwood) in the viburnum clan. You should be able to get more than adequate pollination from any other fertile flowering Viburnum trilobum selection, as well as from any Viburnum opulus or Viburnum sargentii selection. And since you are planning on planting these plants as a hedge, you should have no trouble blending all of these together.