Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
airycat

Cutting back large shrubs

airycat
10 years ago

I have two beautiful shrubs I need to move . Everything in my border grew larger than the tags said they would. I hate to lose them, but they are too crowded, so I need to try to move them. I successfully moved a butterfly bush this past spring by cutting it back in the fall and again before I moved it. Can I do the same with a camellia and an elderberry? The camellia is about 4' now. The elderberry is maybe 10'. Both are only about 4 years old.

Thanks.

Comments (8)

• stevenielsen
    10 years ago

Yes you actually can. You have to be very careful though and expect some losses.

The best time of the year to move Camellias is during winter months. As to elderberries, you can move them anytime. Give it plenty of water because they tend to have transplant shock if not cared properly.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    10 years ago

i have no camellia experience

as to elderberry ... run it over with the truck.. dig it up.. leave it on the driveway for a week .... probably couldnt kill it if you wanted to ...

there is a lot of argument over cutting off all the food making machines.. leaves.. before transplant .... and in your case.. TWICE.. prior to moving ...

and that would hold true for an evergreen type tree ... DO NOT DO THAT ...

the elderberry is deciduous for me.. move it any time its nudey ...

but my gut.. with no experience.. says do NOT do that with the camellia ... others can tell you i am wrong.. if i am ...

ALL size estimates at a given time frame.. e.g. for conifers.. its 10 years ... and at 20 years.. they are usually twice as big ...

the easy way ... is to understand that NOTHING really stops growing at some magical height... use google images.. to see the vast potential.. of any given plant ....