Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
reyesuela_gw

Hydrangea question!

reyesuela
15 years ago

I have a white hydrangea that is probably 40+ years old. At one point, it must have been astonishing. Its main trunk is thicker than my wrist, and what's left is 4' tall! But I must have suffered damage at some point, because it's been drastically cut back from whatever amazing height it must have once had. I've removed all the dead wood still remaining, and what's left is an attractive but very thinly foliaged ("airy" would be a nice euphemism!) plant. It flowers heavily on the existing branches, but these are quite sparse and not at all the abundant look normally associated with hydrangeas.

What can I do to encourage it to bulk up and strengthen it some more?

I'm new in this region, and I've never had most of these plants--they won't grow other places I've lived!

Comments (14)

• petzold6596
    15 years ago

Hydrangeas bloom on second year growth and older. Check out this site: www.hydrangeahydrangea.com, it has all the info you need to grow beautiful hydrangeas.

• reyesuela
    Original Author
    15 years ago

I'd already found that (hydrangeashydrangeas.com), but I'm still quite uncomfortable. I have an H. arborscens 'Annabelle', so it blooms on new wood and should be pruned anytime except spring. It is SO thin now, though, and it's clearly been cut SO far back in the past that I'm worried that one more shock will kill it. I said the trunk is as big as my wrist--actually, that's just the trunk that was cut down to 4' in height. The main trunk, which was cut to about 8", is as big as my calf. And from this enormous trunk is coming just these few long but sparse sprays of flowers. Also, the "prune plants sparingly" to 18-24" inches isn't possible. This hydrangea is more than 5' tall. If I pruned it to 18", that would be a MASSIVE pruning, not a sparing one. (I can't imagine how tall it was before its dramatic pruning in the past--certainly over 8'.)