Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
vcreed2002

Shrubs for formal looking Hedge question

vcreed2002
11 years ago

Hello everyone! This is my first post and I am somewhat new to gardening so please bear with me.

Ok here we go. I am planning on planting a rather large hedge. It will be about 500 ft. I want to keep it around 4 - 5 feet in height and roughly the same width. Evergreen would be a plus but not an absolute must. Faster would be nice but as long as it is not painfully slow I am willing to use it. What I am doing is enclosing my back yard. The closest neighbor is more than 100 yards away.

So here are the conditions. 1) We live in the mountains of Maryland. 2) We have clay soil (though when they built the house they spread about a foot of top soil on top). 3) For about 120ft there will be Norway Maple trees within about 35ft of the hedge. 4) All of the hedge will get sun all day except the ones by the maples. They will get sun on one side most of the day though.

The shrubs I have found myself most interested in are and in order; Yew, Burning bush and Privet. They each have to pluses and negatives. Also, has anyone heard of the Winston Peter's spreading Yew? But I am open to other shrubs if anyone has any thoughts.

Any help, advice or thoughts would be appreciated.

Thanks

Comments (25)

• lisanti07028
    11 years ago

How much upkeep are you planning/hoping to do once the hedge is grown?

I have, sadly, been dealing with privet hedges most of my life, and I can assure you that to stay neat, they must be trimmed between 3 and 5 times a year; the anal-retentives among us trim them every other week. Yew isn't as bad, but still must be kept after to stay neat. 500 feet is a lot of trimming.

If you don't want the hedge to stay neat, then you don't have to restrict yourself to hedge plants, and can make yourself a nice long line of mixed shrubs and small trees, which will almost certainly be less work than the privets.

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5