Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
sparrowknoll

Viburnum Experience Needed!

sparrowknoll
15 years ago

I'm a newbie to GW, and have done my impatient 'due diligence' in the search and FAQ sections w/o finding what I am looking for: the differences between various viburnum's Zone 7 capacities for shade (dry & wet) tolerance.

I have seen the GW information respecting acerifolium and other viburnum natives, read the '07 Dirr (beautiful production values, and has offered me so much useful data, but a little light on the viburnum's differential tolerance for shade and on specific cultivar pollinators for fruit production), and have enjoyed the expertise around related viburnum questions. Local, even large nurseries seem not to really know either, but are willing to invest my money.

Does anyone have 'in-the-ground' experience with viburnum's differential ability to tolerate shade, to flower and fruit productiviely?

Comments (4)

• Iris GW
    15 years ago
    last modified: 9 years ago

In my experience, Viburnum acerifolium is the most shade tolerant native viburnum - that is, able to produce flowers (and therefore fruit) in some degree of shade (less than 6 hours of sun). I have found it numerous times in the wild in part shade conditions with fruit on it. It also does well in dry conditions. No known cultivars that I have seen. But, I have had Viburnum dentatum provide cross pollination for it (specifically the 'Blue Muffin' cultivar). At my house I have it as a foundation shrub on the shady side of my house. It probably gets 3-4 hours of morning sun and flowers heavily.

For wet conditions, Viburnum nudum is a good choice and it has some shade tolerance but not as much as V. acerifolium.
    Several good cultivars available for this one.

I love Dirr's book on viburnums. Hope that helps.

• pops_2008
    15 years ago