Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
annerfanner

Monet Weigela any hope?

gmcaw85
9 years ago

I just planted a monet Wiegela about a month ago, im in Zone 5, it looked a little brown on the leaves to begin with but now has very browned and few leaves left, is there any hope for this plant? Hoping its normal Fall die-back.... I have been watering as instructed but did stop for 2 weeks as we were getting so much rain and was afraid of over watering.

Comments (4)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    9 years ago

what do the buds look like ...

i wouldnt be too concerned about ugly leaves.. this time of year...

it would be nice to know.. where you and the plant are

ken

• gmcaw85
    Original Author
    9 years ago

I attached a picture, im in WI. I guess Im worried by the leaf fall and browning because compared to my Variegata in my backyard, that one is still full and green. Is it the new planting? Or typical for this type of weigela (monet)? Im new to gardening...

This post was edited by gmcaw85 on Sun, Oct 26, 14 at 12:53

• NHBabs z4b-5a NH
    9 years ago

In my yard, all but the evergreens and the plants that hold leaves particularly late are relatively sparse by now, so I wouldn't worry too much. New plants such as yours have lived under different conditions in the nursery than in your yard. You don't say if the W. variegata is new or old, but regardless, I wouldn't expect it to behave the same way as the new My Monet. It's a different selection and has different conditions, so won't behave the same way.