Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kazoonative

native shrub with red berries- ID??

kazoonative
16 years ago

Hi,

I'm new to the garden web. After searching through books and on the internet, I am hoping someone here can help me identify a shrub. A friend has them on the edge of a woodsline where they get at least six hours of sun. They were moved to this site from a previous home seven years ago. She was told the shrubs were invasive, but they have not multiplied, only grown. currently, the shrubs are six to eight feet tall with light, arching branches. In the spring there are white flowers and currently there are red berries. I am told there are some thorns, but I didn't see any. Can I provide any other info that would help ID these shrubs? I do have pics, but am not sure how to add them to the forum.

Thanks for any help you can give!

Comments (11)

• IanW Zone 5 Ont. Can.
    16 years ago

Sounds like a member of the Crataegus (Hawthorn) genus. Probably not a "common hawthorn", but one other of the many cultivars that are now established in North America.
    Google Crataegus and see if it matches the tree that you are inquiring about.

Ian

• Iris GW
    16 years ago

Yes, pictures would help, even describing the leaves would help.

You can open a free account at a photohosting site (like photobucket.com). Upload your pictures. There will be several links given to you to use for each picture. Click on the one called HTML tag and it will say "copied". Come back here and paste that into this message. When you click "preview" you should see your picture displayed. Then we can see it. But even if you just give us the URL, we can copy and paste it ourselves.

You can also upload a 60K picture in the Shrubs Gallery here, but that can be a very small picture.

• mad_gallica (z5 Eastern NY)
    16 years ago

Aside from the thorns, it sounds like Amur or Tatarian honeysuckle. It's a very invasive exotic that spreads by seeds.

• IanW Zone 5 Ont. Can.
    16 years ago