Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
kimcoco

facer shrubs

kimcoco
13 years ago

I'm looking for suggestions for facer(?) shrubs to mask the base of my yews. I will border these facers with either hostas or impatiens.

The area is full shade, east facing wall on a mature tree lined street. I'd like something more formal in appearance meaning more compact and tidy. Deciduous is fine.

I was thinking Itea Little Henry as it has a nice "mounded" shape, but mine is in full sun next to a fountain where it gets a lot of moisture. I've read they do well in full shade though I've no experience with this. Blooming would be a plus, but I'm looking for more of an overall contrast to the backdrop of yews to give my foundation plantings more depth and interest. Right now it screams cookie cutter and I'm trying to change it up a bit.

Is there a compact spirea that might work well here?

Any other suggestions?

Comments (21)

• ken_adrian Adrian MI cold Z5
    13 years ago

hey kim

never heard of the term facer ...

any chance at a picture.. i dont get the question ...

my gut says.. if you have overly mature ... read that UGLY yews ... get rid of them.. and put the money into a nice relandscaping .. rather than spending dough to hide the ugly ones ...

if they are blocking something.. then take out every other one .... and plant new.. and then in a few years.. as they start to fill.. get rid of the others ...

ken

• kimcoco
    Original Author
    13 years ago

Hi Ken, facer plants, from what I understand, are intended to disguise the base of larger shrubs or trees.