Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Egg Shells? Safe?

Posted by felin 9 (My Page) on
Tue, Jun 1, 10 at 19:23

Hi,

I am brand new to vegetable gardening.
Thought I'd try to start my first ever compost pile. No clue how to, but will look around on this section.
Can egg shells be harmful? The reason that I ask is because of always having to be cautious of raw eggs when eating because of potential salmonella poisoning. Is that not an issue when adding them to a compost pile? Have heard that you should always rinse them first IF using them, but had someone in another section on this forum tell me that "No" I do not have to rinse them.

Any thoughts?

Thanks in advance!

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Egg Shells? Safe?

I don't rinse them. I don't eat compost.

o

I love egg shells; I think it gives so much to the soil. I'm usually don't put meat or proteins in, just to avoid critters, but when we make egg white omelets, I toss the yokes right in.
A lot of serious composters are a lot more scientific than I. I'm a tosser. I used to hate cleaning the refrig...now my DH gets mad because I'm snooping in there all the time taking stuff that's almost reached its end. Anyway, all I do is toss the kitchen scraps, coffee grounds, etc. Occasionally, in the dead of night, the men in my house will go out and pee on it. Liquid Gold. If it gets too wet and stinky (not from the pee), I tear up newspaper into it.
Composting is addictive. My DH even brings home stuff from work for it/me. Look up lasagna composting. That's how I do it fall and winter. Just pick the spot you want to amend. It's amazing.
Have so much fun with it.
And PS...I don't spend a cent on it. It's all already here...or at starbucks.

o

I save up my eggshells for a week or two, grind them in the blender and add them to my compost. No worries re: salmonella.

o

I don't rinse the eggshells. I just toss them in to my compost. They get crushed when I turn the container.

o