Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
elbourne_gw

Seed Starter Potting Mix

Elbourne
12 years ago

I am looking for alternatives to store bought Seed Starter Potting Mix. Any suggestions?

I'm especially interested in planting some pepper seeds in paper cups today. I'd like to save myself a trip to the store. Can I just use compost? I don't know if I have any available,, but I do have a big unturned pile of leaves in the back yard from two years ago. I have not checked under that to see what I have. I wonder if it would work.

Comments (9)

• robertz6
    12 years ago

I've been using seed starter for about ten years with my tomatoes and peppers.

Use the 'Search' feature to check pasts forum threads on potting mixes. And read amy FAQ short articles that might apply.

• robertz6
    12 years ago

There were 247 hits on threads using the Search feature for 'potting mix'. Just in this forum. Searching all the forum areas will produce even more hits.

• Elbourne
    Original Author
    12 years ago

I think my question was poorly worded. My second paragraph confused the issue.

I was looking to spark a discussion on alternatives to purchasing seed starter mix. Every search I've found turns up references to store bought vermiculite, perlite, peat moss, and stuff like that. Since the folks on this forum seem very resourceful in turning just about anything into compost, I was hoping that I'd have similar luck in creating some sort of good germination medium without always running to Home Depot and picking up plastic bags with bar codes. For some reason I just don't feel all that "sustainable" when standing in the check out line. I'd love to make my own. I'll keep searching.

• Peaceful_Warrior
    12 years ago

Elbourne-

You're my type of gardener. I've been on the same search as you & it is difficult because of the current conditioning of most gardeners.