Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Winter composting with a tumbler

Posted by stan6 TN 6 (My Page) on
Tue, Jan 26, 10 at 13:13

Since early November I have been depositing food scraps and other greens and browns into my compost tumbler. It is about full. When the outside night time temp is above freezing for several days I rotate the tumbler. Is the material breaking down during these colder weeks? Does turning in winter aid decomposition? If I stop adding material, in spring will I be ahead of schedule more than if I simply suspended the process til warmer weather? In other words, what microbial activity takes place when daytime temps average 40's and nights drop into the low-mid 20's about 50% of the nights? I'm new at composting and charged up for the springtime.

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Winter composting with a tumbler

Three months to fill it? If the tumbler is full and it's not decomposing, you might want to consider emptying it out. I'll assume that you've got an adequately reasonable carbon/nitrogen ratio. Since you have been turning the tumbler, it will be pretty well mixed. Dump it out and move the contents to a compost pile. Starting filling the tumbler again.

In three more months you will have filled the tumbler again. The weather will be warming up, the contents of the tumbler will be composting and shrinking down. Be sure to stop adding material so that it has a chance to finish before planting time. Once you've got that about halfway composted, you'll want to dump that compost into a pile, too, so it can finish. Don't mix the first pile and the second pile, but do turn them and keep them damp.

You can test your compost to see if it's ready by trying to sprout small seeds like carrot in the compost. Not ready? Turn it and keep it damp, but not wet.

Don't use unfinished compost on your soil. Once your plants have sprouted or are transplanted and established, you can top-dress with your new compost.

o