Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Should I compost my cover crops or turn them under?

Posted by castorp z9 FL (My Page) on
Sat, Jan 19, 08 at 18:04

Hi, I'm just beginning to use cover crops, not only to improve the soil but (hopefully) cut down on the nematode/disease problems.

I have a small, fairly intensively planted garden, and I have no tiller.

My question is, Should I a) pull up the cover crop and compost it (would this ruin the nemicidal benefits?) b) cut the cover crop down, compost the tops and spade in the roots or c) cut it down and turn the whole cover crop into the soil?

I'm aware that there's also option D) the no till method, cutting it down and letting it stay on the surface, but this time around I want to try "working the soil."

I'm leaning towards C), but I think I should not let the cover crop get very big because it would be more difficult to turn in and slower to break down.

The cover crops I plan to use most are sunn hemp in summer, maybe some cowpeas, and the rest of the year mustard, kale, and marigolds.

Any advice or information on this would be appreciated. Thank you!

Bill

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Should I compost my cover crops or turn them under?

It is my understanding that tilling in a cover crop is best. That is what I have done in the past when I have used one, and it worked very well, although I admit that I haven't done it often. My tiller gave out a few years back and I decided not to buy a new one because I didn't use it much and it spent most of its time taking up space in the garage. Now when I want a tiller, I rent one for the day. Perhaps you could look into doing that?
MacThayer

o