Return to the Soil Forum | Post a Follow-Up

o
Coffee Grounds + Coffee Filters = ??

Posted by toast5616 (My Page) on
Thu, Jan 31, 08 at 20:33

I have been adding coffee grounds to my compost pile for a good 2 months (at least) now, and I always do the dirty work of extracting the paper filters by hand just to be sure I don't add any dyes or bleach (hence the WHITE color of a filter - they DO sell the brown ones, which say BLEACH FREE). I am trying to do the whole organic thing as STRICTLY as I can. But from the experts... does it really matter? What effect will it have? And how nicely will the filters decompose/effect the ratio of everything and PH? Thanks.

- Toast

Follow-Up Postings:

o
RE: Coffee Grounds + Coffee Filters = ??

I've been composting coffee and filters for years. They decompose just fine in the bin.

o

Thanks. What about in bulk sizes? For example, I know a local coffee shop that has a trash can for their employees to dispose of coffee grounds and their filters ONLY. Would mass amounts of filters be okay as long as the pile itself was also relatively large?

o

Compost piles love eating coffee filters. The tiny amount of bleach in the filters is nothing to worry about.

o

Those white coffee filters are made from bleached pulp but by the time you get them there is no bleach left, no dyes, no toxins other that he ones you might add. They can be composted just like any other paper product.

o

Out of necessity, I've gotten more lax on the quality of the materials I'll add to my pile. I can't make enough compost without getting grass clippings and leaves, of unknown origin, from the town. After recognizing that, I relaxed and started putting stuff in my previously organic pile that, for instance, contained preservatives (grocery store leftovers) or bleaches (as in coffee filters). For the most part I try to run an organic pile.

Worms like the filters, so there's that.

o