Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
whiteoakian

Can you compost dog hair?

whiteoakian
14 years ago

I am new at composting. I saw where someone had posted that they had composed dog hair. Really? If so, since we foster golden retrievers, I have plenty. Thanks for advice.

Susan

Comments (14)

• jonas302
    14 years ago

Sure can in moderation of course it doesn't decompose very fast but is rich in good things

My lab is black so I don't mind at all if there is some hair that isn't completly composted

• beermaninpa
    14 years ago

One of the things I have seen is to leave it out for the birds to build nests.

• Kimmsr
    14 years ago

You can compost the hair from dogs, people, or about any other animal because it is a protein and will be digested by the bacteria that digest everything else. I have not seen that the hair from dogs, or anything else, will keep rabbits, squirrels, groundhogs, skunks, or much of anything else out of your garden.

• whiteoakian
    Original Author
    14 years ago

Thank you for the info. I'll go ahead and add that to the pile. DH will think I've totally lost it. And if it keeps some critters away, that's a bonus!
    Susan

• gardenlen
    14 years ago

yep any hair it all contains trace elements, have heard of some who collect it from hairdresser shops, we don't compost in heaps bins all our occurs in the garden, so it works well for us.

len

Here is a link that might be useful: lens garden page

• lazy_gardens
    14 years ago

Some hair decomposes faster than others.

Oily fur, such as the wooly undercoats of Akitas, Malemutes, and many retrievers, is slower to decompose than silky hair.

But it will eventually decompose.

• joepyeweed
    14 years ago

I compost dog hair. I have two dogs and whenever I brush them, it goes into the compost.

The majority of stuff in my dustpan and vacuum cleaner bags is dog hair, which also gets composted.

• dchall_san_antonio
    14 years ago