Shop Products
Houzz Logo Print
stevemy

Fresh Wood Chip Mulch

stevemy
15 years ago

So after having over 200 cubic yards of mulch delivered in the last 12 months, I decided to dedicate a week of writing to the subject. I also just added a video clip on fresh wood chips as mulch.

Hopefully many of you have looked into using fresh wood chips for your gardens. If you haven't started yet here's a little reading to get you on the right track.

Also, I'd like to hear from others that have been using fresh wood chips what your experience using them has been?

Here is a link that might be useful: Video Clip

Comments (78)

• kellywinstonsalem
    14 years ago

What a great thread!

I'm new at all this. After reading a lot, I'm using free fresh wood chips to mulch my raised bed paths, and I was thinking of smothering my lawn with cardboard and fresh wood chips in prep for a permaculture food forest. Apparently I have bermuda grass. I was wondering if it would work, or if I would regret it?

I'm collecting cardboard from the neighborhood hardware store -they seem to be pleasantly amused by me- and from any store I go to that has boxes broken down. My favorite tree service also seems to be amused by me and happy to deliver wood chips for free. I've been reading about the horrors of bermuda grass. It all seems a little dramatic; I'm trying to keep my gardening endeavors a low stress activity. I've been advised that I'll have to kill the bermuda grass with round-up.

I don't want to do that.

I'm thinking I'll try to smother it with the cardboard and woodchips. I'm hoping that this will help with the clay soil and the fact the pasture was used for llama and is probably compacted. I'm wondering if I should till first? Or just layer with cardboard and wood chips? How long do you all think it will take for it to become a quality soil? Do you think it will work?

Here's the area I'm thinking of covering with woodchips/cardboard: